News Room

Legal exam success celebrated at Jersey Law Course Annual Prizegiving

The Law Society of Jersey has held its annual prizegiving for those students who achieved the highest marks in the Jersey Law Course examinations held in 2020 and 2021 

The Prizegiving took place at The Law Society of Jersey’s Annual Dinner on 1 October 2021.

The prizes were presented by the Deputy Bailiff, Robert MacRae, in his capacity as President of the Board of Examiners.

President of The Law Society of Jersey, Advocate Rose Colley said:

“The route to qualifying as a Jersey Advocate or Solicitor requires a considerable level of study and dedication and to achieve success is a great achievement. 

Today we celebrate excellence on the part of individuals who have achieved the highest marks in very testing examinations.  We congratulate them all and wish them well in their future careers in the legal profession.

Not only is it appropriate for us to celebrate these success stories but it is also a great opportunity for us to reflect on the effective collaboration between Jersey’s legal profession and the Institute of Law, which has created an effective learning environment through which the Jersey Law Course can exclusively be offered.

In the recent examinations, 21 students completed their examinations and will be sworn in as Advocates and Solicitors later this year.  Combined with healthy student numbers on the Jersey Law Course, this augurs well for the future generation of lawyers who will serve the increasing legal needs of our Island.”

The prizewinners were:


Jersey Legal Systems and Constitutional Law – Sponsor: The Law Society of Jersey

Winner: Antonia Hull

Law of Contract – Sponsor: Appleby

Joint Winners: Holly Thebault and Nicola Le Boutillier

Law of Security Interests and Bankruptcy – Sponsor: Bedell Cristin

Winner: Laura Shirreffs

Testate and Intestate Succession – Sponsor: Benest & Syvret

Winner: Lynne Calder

Law of Immovable Property and Conveyancing – The Hazel Bailey Prize, sponsored by Baker & Partners

Winner: Rebecca McQuillan

Civil and Criminal Procedure – Sponsor: Viberts

Winner: Oliver Richardson

Trust Law – The Richard Pirie Prize - Sponsor: Collas Crill

Winner: Sevyn Kalsi

Company Law – Sponsor: Mourant Ozannes

Winner: Oliver Richardson

Family Law – Sponsor: BCR Law

Winner: Kate Donohue


 Appleby 2 (2).jpgCivil and Crim2 (2).jpgFamily (2).jpgLaura Shirreffs - Law of Security Interests and Bankruptcy.jpgOliver Richardson - Company Law.jpgProperty (2).jpgSuccession (2).jpgTrust (2).jpgSystems (2).jpg