News Room

Legal exam success celebrated at Jersey Law Course Annual Prizegiving

The Law Society of Jersey has held its annual prizegiving for those students who achieved the highest marks in the Jersey Law Course examinations in 2019.  The Prizegiving took place at The Law Society of Jersey’s Annual Dinner on 7 February 2020. The prizes were presented by the Deputy Bailiff, Robert MacRae, in his capacity as President of the Board of Examiners.  

President of The Law Society of Jersey, Advocate John Kelleher said: “The route to qualifying as a Jersey Advocate or Solicitor requires a considerable level of study and dedication and to achieve success is a great achievement.   Today we celebrate excellence on the part of individuals who have achieved the highest marks in very testing examinations.  We congratulate them all and wish them well in their future careers in the legal profession. Not only is it appropriate for us to celebrate these success stories but it is also a great opportunity for us to reflect on the effective collaboration between Jersey’s legal profession and the Institute of Law, which has created an effective learning environment through which the Jersey Law Course can exclusively be offered. 


14 new Advocates and Solicitors were sworn in during 2019, having successfully completed their studies through the Institute of Law.  Student numbers on the Jersey Law Course remain at relatively high levels which augurs well for the future generation of lawyers who will serve the increasing legal needs of our Island.”

  Prizegiving 2020 - Herold-Howes and O'Neill 2 (2).JPG

Prizegiving 2020 - Gregory (2).JPG

Prizegiving 2020 - Tavares Trust (2).JPG

The prizewinners were:   

Law of Contract – Sponsor: Appleby

Winner: Lynne Calder

Law of Security Interests and Bankruptcy – Sponsor: Bedell Cristin

Winner: Stephen O’Neill and Greg Herold-Howes

Testate and Intestate Succession – Sponsor: Benest & Syvret

Winner: Michael Edwards

Law of Immovable Property and Conveyancing – The Hazel Bailey Prize, sponsored by Baker & Partners

Winner: William Burnell

Civil and Criminal Procedure – Sponsor: Viberts

Winner: Catia Tavares

Trust Law – The Richard Pirie Prize - Sponsor: Collas Crill

Winner: Catia Tavares

Company Law – Sponsor: Mourant Ozannes

Winner: Lynne Gregory

For further information, please contact Neville Benbow, Chief Executive Officer, The Law Society of Jersey on 01534 734826 or email